Australia win toss, choose to bowl in World Cup final against India

Australia’s captain Pat Cummins won the toss and chose to bowl in the final clash of the ICC World Cup 2023 against India at Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday.

Both teams remain unchanged for the clash at the world’s biggest cricket stadium where Australia, playing in an eighth final, look for a sixth title.

India won the World Cup in 1983 and then again on home soil in 2011.

Rohit Sharma’s India have won all their 10 matches at the tournament and retain the winning XI from their 70-run semi-final win over New Zealand in Mumbai on Wednesday.

Rohit said he would have opted to bat first had he won the toss.

“I’d have batted first, it looks a good pitch, it’s a big game, let’s put runs on the board,” said Rohit as the crowd roared.

“It’s going to be amazing. The biggest occasion in terms of cricket events. We have to stay calm and get the job done.”

The hosts are looking to end a global title drought since their Champions Trophy win in 2013.

Red-hot Virat Kohli leads the tournament batting chart with 711 runs after he smashed a record 50th ODI century in the semis to surpass compatriot Sachin Tendulkar’s 49 tons.

Fast bowler Mohammed Shami tops the bowling list with 23 wickets in six matches.

Cummins announced the same team which won a nervy semi-final against South Africa by three wickets in Kolkata on Thursday.

In the group stage, they lost to India in their opener by six wickets and to South Africa by 134 runs before putting together an eight-game winning streak.

“Looks like a bit of a dry wicket and we wanted to bowl first. Dew is one factor and it’s quite dewy in the night at this venue,” said Cummins.

“Been really proud of the group. Tough start to the tournament but they haven’t put a foot wrong since.”

Australia hammered India in the 2003 World Cup final in Johannesburg.

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wkt), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Australia: David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins (capt), Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Related posts

T20 World Cup: Pakistan to bowl first against India in high-voltage clash

Daily News

Diya Women Football Club hosts U-14 Football Tournament

Daily News

England cancels Pakistan tour after New Zealand pulls out

Daily News

Ronaldo, Haaland emerge as top goal scorers of 2023 with Mbappe trailing behind

Daily News

Futsul Tournament begins in Karachi

Daily News

I watched Australia’s match as a spectator in ’98, now it is an honor to play against them: Fawad

Daily News

Leave a Comment