KP Local Bodies: JUI Leads in City Mayors and Chairman Tehsil Council Elections

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) local body elections, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is facing an upset defeat in the mayoral election while Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam is also leading in the election of Chairman Tehsil Councils.

In the first phase of local body elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, elections were to be held for 61 Tehsil Councils and 5 City Councils but no elections were held in Bakakhel Tehsil Council and Dera Ismail Khan City Council.

Mayoral election results
Polling was to be held for 5 city mayors in KP local body elections but polling was postponed due to assassination of Awami National Party mayoral candidate in city council Dera Ismail Khan and 4 city councils Mardan, Peshawar, Kohat and Polling for city mayor held in Bannu.

In Peshawar, Mardan, Bannu and Kohat, no PTI candidate was successful.

According to the latest unconfirmed unofficial results, the support of Awami National Party (ANP) in Mardan was declared by Allah Mayar with 56,458 votes while Amanat Shah Haqqani of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam came second with 49,938 votes. Stay
In Kohat, Sher Zaman of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI) also won the mayoral election with 34,434 votes, while independent candidate Saifullah Jan came second with 25,793 votes.

JUI candidate Irfanullah Durrani is leading with 27,500 votes while Iqbal Jadoon Khan of PTI is at the second position with 22,800 votes.

The full results of the Bannu mayoral election will be announced soon.

Results of Tehsil Councils
According to Geo News, elections were to be held for 61 Tehsil Councils but no polling was held in Bakakhel Tehsil while results of two more Tehsils have been withheld and so far results of 43 Tehsil Councils out of 58 Tehsil Councils have come out.

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results so far, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam candidates have won 13 seats in the Tehsil Council.

The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has fielded 10 candidates in the election of Chairman Tehsil Council.

Besides, 8 independent candidates have also been declared successful in the seats of Chairman Tehsil Council.

In the election of Chairman Tehsil Council, 6 members of Awami National Party (ANP), 3 members of PML-N, 2 members of Jamaat-e-Islami and one chairman of Tehreek-e-Istiqlal Pakistan (TIP) have been elected.

Related posts

Three dead, 21 injured in Lahore’s Johar Town blast

Daily News

PPP announces party candidates for Senate elections

Daily News

Imran Khan: Pakistan’s former prime minister wounded in gun attack, one suspect killed

Daily News

International court withdraws order to freeze PIA assets in Reko Diq case

Daily News

Supreme Court orders to continue operation on Orangi and Gujjar Nalla

Daily News

I told the truth, NSC’s statement confirms there was a conspiracy: Imran Khan

Daily News

Leave a Comment