T20 World Cup 2024: US grab victory over Pakistan in Super Over challenge

The US successfully defended a 19-run target in the Super Over against Pakistan after a thrilling 20-over match ended in a tie.

The match between Pakistan and the US was decided in a Super Over after the hosts tied the game on the last ball of the final over.

Pakistan lost by five runs in the one-over eliminator.

Pakistan set a target of 160 runs while batting first. The US managed to match this score, ending their innings at 159-3 on the last ball.

In the Super Over, Mohammad Amir bowled for Pakistan, with the US scoring 18-1. In response, Pakistan managed only 13-1, losing by five runs.

Throughout the match, the US batted cautiously, with skipper Monank Patel leading by example, scoring 50 runs before being dismissed by Mohammad Amir.

The US needed 21 runs from the final 12 balls. Amir bowled an exceptional penultimate over, conceding only six runs and leaving 15 runs to defend in the last over.

Haris Rauf bowled the final over but struggled, giving up a six on the fourth ball. The US needed six runs from the last two balls and, despite needing five off the final ball, Nitish Kumar hit a four to tie the game.

For Pakistan, Shaheen Afridi went wicketless, while Amir, Naseem Shah, and Haris Rauf each took one wicket.

During Pakistan’s innings, the US bowlers had a strong start, sending the top-order batsmen Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Khan, and Fakhar Zaman back to the pavilion for just 26 runs.

Despite losing three wickets early, skipper Babar Azam and Shadab Khan stabilized the innings. Their 72-run partnership helped Pakistan regain their footing until Shadab was dismissed after scoring 40 runs off 25 balls.

Following Shadab’s dismissal, wicketkeeper Azam Khan was out for a golden duck, leading to a continued fall of wickets.

Babar Azam scored 44 off 43 balls, while Iftikhar Ahmed added 18 runs. Shaheen Afridi contributed crucial lower-order runs, scoring 23 off 16 balls, helping Pakistan reach 159-7 in their allotted overs.

Playing XIs:

USA: Steven Taylor, Monank Patel (capt, wk), Andries Gous, Aaron Jones, Nitish Kumar, Corey Anderson, Harmeet Singh, Jasdeep Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, Saurabh Netravalkar, Ali Khan
Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Usman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir, Haris Rauf

Related posts

Former Australian leg-spin legend Shane Warne dies at 52

Daily News

David Milan breaks Babar Azam record

Daily News

Girls and Boys Futsul Tournament to begin from April 07

Daily News

Islamabad United beat Kings by 42 runs

Daily News

New Zealand Afghanistan match, what does Shoaib Akhtar want?

Daily News

Afghan footballer Zaki Anwari among those who fell from US plane at Kabul airport

Daily News

Leave a Comment