Pakistan elected non-permanent UNSC member with big majority

UNITED NATIONS: After extensive campaigning, Pakistan was elected on Thursday as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council with an overwhelming majority. Pakistan, running unopposed, received 182 votes in the 193-member General Assembly, far exceeding the required two-thirds majority of 124 votes.

The General Assembly hall erupted in applause when its president, Dennis Francis, announced the winners of the five non-permanent seats: Pakistan, Denmark, Greece, Panama, and Somalia. These countries will replace Japan, Ecuador, Malta, Mozambique, and Switzerland, whose terms end on December 31. Francis congratulated the victors on their success.

Starting January 1, 2025, Pakistan will replace Japan in the Asian seat for a two-year term, marking its eighth tenure on the Council.

Munir Akram, Pakistan’s permanent representative to the UN, highlighted the significance of this election, noting it reflects the international community’s trust in Pakistan to uphold the UN Charter’s purposes and principles. Ambassador Akram stated that Pakistan would collaborate actively with other Council members to achieve shared goals, emphasizing Pakistan’s commitment to conflict prevention and peaceful resolution as per the UN Charter.

Pakistan has previously served on the Council in 2012-13, 2003-04, 1993-94, 1983-84, 1976-77, 1968-69, and 1952-53.

Pakistan joins the Security Council amidst significant global challenges and aims to focus on several key issues:

Promoting peace and security in South Asia
Supporting self-determination for Palestine and Kashmir
Facilitating normalization in Afghanistan
Finding equitable solutions to security challenges in Africa
Enhancing the effectiveness of UN peacekeeping operations
Historically, Pakistan has contributed significantly to the Security Council’s efforts to strengthen international peace and security. For over 50 years, Pakistan has been a leading participant in UN Peacekeeping Missions, currently deploying over 4,000 troops and personnel worldwide.

The new non-permanent members will join the five permanent members with veto power (the United States, Russia, China, the United Kingdom, and France) and the five countries elected last year (Algeria, Guyana, South Korea, Sierra Leone, and Slovenia).

Related posts

Taliban welcome Putin’s statement regarding blasphemy against the Prophet (PBUH)

Daily News

‘We will turn Beirut into Gaza’: Israeli PM threatens Hezbollah

Daily News

Israeli aggression continues in Gaza, Palestinian death toll surges to 126

Daily News

International Women’s Day being celebrated today

Daily News

The announcement of the UAE to send an ambassador to Iran after 6 years

Daily News

Iran’s Raisi elected president with 62pc of vote

Daily News

Leave a Comment